Portraits of self

A few years back I wanted to test a used Mamiya 645 with an 80mm f/2.8 lens I had just got, to see what kind of portraits I could expect taking with them.

So, I set up the camera in the beautiful afternoon light in our bedroom and asked my girlfriend to help me take a few self portraits—accurate focusing with the lens wide open is one of the difficulties of shooting a self-portrait.

But she, being a photographer too, instead of following my explicit directions of “just make sure I’m in focus” went on and shot a bunch of portraits of me anyways…

So instead of the clinical self portraits I was aiming for, just for testing a new setup, we ended up with a few interesting actual portraits…

Lesson… go with the flow…

T_portrait_01

Leave a Reply

